John Doe Letter To The GOP by Rick London

A John Doe Letter To The GOP:

 

Dear GOP,

I imagine this letter does not come as any big surprise.  We both have seen it coming for a long time.  I will admit at one time, long long ago, we were inseparable. I was so proud of you, and you seemed to be of me. Sure, I flirted with that other lady (democratic party) many times, but nothing I did that Ronald Reagan didn’t do, so don’t be mad.

This wasn’t an overnight decision. I’ve taken your bullying, insults, patronizing, your talking behind my back (but we always had a mutual friend who pretended to be your friend only, and of course I heard what you said the same day)…..and all sorts of other insanity (and oddly enough I liked Obama about as much as you did the first few years, but that is before I knew what the GOP Congress was doing). I was so afraid he was not a do-nothing President. Imagine my surprise when I discovered he was a do EVERYTHING President,  and the GOP Congress was asleep at the wheel.  Theirs, and your hate for Obama was far greater than either of your love for our great country. You were willing to let it sink, just to get rid of Obama. How dare you.  This is our country too. Not yours, not Romney’s, not the Koch Bros only. Sure you own your fair share but guess what.  So do the rest of us. 

And I don’t blame you that you got hijacked by the loon fringe; that would be like blaming a pilot for a hijacking. You tried your best to show them sanity and even sent sane prophets such as Jon Huntsman but they wouldn’t listen.  He even had a budget and health care bill endorsed by the Wall St. Journal and thumbs up from the AARP  (as does Obama) but not you, my dear ex, GOP,  you became the major joke of politics (in my lifetime).  Think I enjoyed seeing that?  Well think again.

Now we have nothing in common.  You know I am a Constitutionalist and it is not unlike me to read the Constitutions of the world which are available (in totality) on the net.

What you are now offering is actually more brutal than the Constitution of Iran.

We are not a Theocracy. I believe that every man and woman in office should have every right to practice their faith but as Thomas Jefferson said, “Whatever you do, don’t mix it with politics. From that is what we ran (England).

Don’t you remember that Jefferson re-wrote the Bible; the Jefferson Bible and it was given to all of Congress all the way up until the 1940s?  All the miracles were removed (he carefully edited it by razor blade).  It’s still available on Amazon if you don’t believe me.

It was not that he didn’t believe in God, he did as do I. He simply wanted to make very sure nobody got the idea of it being a good idea to legislate religious morality.  And now, you are working behind his, and our other founding father’s backs to do just that.

And this forcible rape thing….at first I thought it might be a joke from SNL or The Onion. But you were really serious about the rapist suddenly becoming “the loving father” with visitation rights for 18 years.  That would make America the most immoral country on the planet. 

You do not believe in equal rights for all.  Sure you “Love the gay, but hate the sin”.  Do them a favor…just hate their guts as they know and we know that’s what that means.  If you spent that much time and energy on your own sins, you’d have no time to even worry about gays.

You think every immigrant must leave; even those born here illegally but know no other country but America.   That’s not the America I know.  Consider this. Christopher Columbus was Hispanic,  here illegally, and without his papers.

You want to take away women’s health care, contraception and reproductive rights.  You remember I told you once I don’t like abortion either, but you want to legislate it which is not only UnConstitutional, now we know it will cause millions more abortions annually. Haven’t you heard about the Internet Abortion Entrepreneurs laying in wait (praying Romney/Ryan would get elected) so they could hawk their cheap ulcer drug that works as a semi-abortion drug {Misoprosol} which will make abortions so easy, women won’t even need a doctor. Oh and it only works 97% of the time. But on the 3% it doesn’t it usually causes horrendous birth defects.  But I know how you feel about that now. Any woman who would have an abortion deserves that.  And the more you try to outlaw abortion, the more you finance the abortion drug, as it will go further underground, be pricier, and you’ll be financing that.  Sorry, I’m too well to attend your party any longer.   Yet another reason we must break up.

Consider this.  I’ve been an Independent now for many years.  I can tell you from all the disgruntled GOP’s (and Democrats) in this country who are also in our party that if the GOP Congress keeps acting this way, we Americans will keep electing Democratic Presidents (even if we don’t like them very much).

Why?  Because we Independents are often a bit more educated and aware than the average voter. We know how Washington really works, and its not the President who usually is the problem; it is Congress…and this one has been the worst.
So, if you want to keep seeing Democrats as Presidents, I encourage you to keep treating them the way you’ve treated President Obama the past 3 years. I can assure you Democrats (or Independents) will be elected over and over and over again, until you learn that compromise is not a dirty word,  that all Americans deserve equal rights and the pursuit of happiness, keep your faith but America is not a Theocracy, Iran is,  and you can’t bully me anymore. Even my therapist would fire me if he thought we were still seeing each other.

 

We’re 40% of America (we Independents) and we can vote you out so fast you won’t have time to blink.  Think it through.  Perhaps a total remodeling of a party that simply doesn’t work in the 21st century might serve you well as a start.  Calling me names and rumors and innuendo isn’t going to help you one iota. What I am telling you is actually very instructional.  I know you don’t believe it but I hate to see you crumble like this.  Remember, I was once one of you.  In fact so were a majority of Americans.  But you left us, we didn’t leave you (to quote the late great Ronald Reagan).

Please remember that just because I don’t love you anymore doesn’t mean I don’t like you.  I want you to be strong….but whenever I consult with you (regarding being strong, you do the opposite.  Now who does that help; and see where it got you in the 2012 election.   You have to admit you were quite the joke; but you were good to me in many ways.  After all I’m in the cartoon and humor writing business, and I’ll give credit where credit is due. Your ignorance was definitely to mine, and many others advantage (who are in similar businesses).

Oddly, I’d rather live in a less divided country than be a successful cartoonist or humor writer.  Really.  I know you don’t believe that but I’m not driven by greed. I’d gladly go back to generic cartoons if you’d at least try to act humane and with integrity.

I know this John Doe letter is painful, but it’s also instructional.  If you’ll do a few of the things I say; not just lip-service (Oh I love all people in all parties, gays, etc etc) but actually DO it, you might just find some of us come back and you can court us again. Meantime don’t come stalking me or I’ll take out a restraining order. 

Best Wishes,

Rick London
Londons Times Cartoons

 

 _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Rick London is a writer, author designer and songwriter. He founded Google’s #1 ranked offbeat cartoons & funny gifts, Londons Times Cartoons. He lives with his wife nature photographer Lee Hiller London who publishes the blog Hike Our Planet.  Together they live in the beautiful Ouachita Mountains of Arkansas.  They are actively involved in green, childrens, and animal causes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “John Doe Letter To The GOP by Rick London

Leave a Reply

